top of page

Ball Boy Talk: BBWAA Award Winners

Welcome to Ball Boys and Ball Girls; thanks for joining me today. Today, we will review each of the BBWAA award winners' winners and illustrate just how good each of them was on the season. I highlighted each of the award winners' accomplishments and what they did that was great to win the award. Note: I was 5/6 with the awards. Don't believe me? Check my predictions here. Chicago Natives and Fans! Do you love that sports page of The Chicago Defender? If you do, I need your help! Please come on over to Facebook and help me get my Great-Great-Grandfather Fay Young(Who created the Defender's sports page) into the Baseball Hall of Fame. Read the full post here:

Congrats, Rookie of the Year Winners:

Congrats to Mariners OF Kyle Lewis and Brewers RP Devin Williams on winning the BBWAA Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Awards. Kyle Lewis won the AL award by a unanimous vote and is the first Mariners since 01 when Ichiro won the award. Lewis had a great year to recap as he posted a 1.4WAR and Gold Glove defense. He had 11HR, 28RBI, and slashed .262/.364/.437 a .801OPS and 126OPS+.

Devin Williams is the first RP to win the award that didn't start a game or get a save. He is the first RP to win the award since 2011. Congrats to both of the winners, both well-deserved awards! Williams was lights out when he took the mound in his 27IP, giving up 1ER. Notching 53K, 0.33ERA/0.86FIP, he was just incredible.

Congrats, Manager of the Year Winners:

Congrats to Tampa Bay Rays manager Kevin Cash and Miami Marlins manager Don Mattingly on winning the AL and NL Manager of the Year awards. Both were well deserved as Cash finally got his after being a finalist for his 3 times and leading the Rays to a 40-20 record. After this being his third time, he finally showed enough to manage the best bullpen in baseball all season and offense. Cash was money in 2020 as he led this team to the World Series.

Mattingly was fantastic in 2020 as he had to make 174 transactions, start guys who they signed off the street, or just claimed the day before. Then he also able to lead this team to the playoffs for the first time since 03, and after 2019 that saw the Marlins lose 105 games. What a turn around, and he did one heck of a job-winning game and keeping this team in it no matter the circumstances.

Congrats to the CY Young winners:

AL Winner Shane Bieber-who was a unanimous winner. With the year that he had, I am not surprised that he won this award over Kenta Maeda and Hyun-Jin Ryu. He had an 8-1 record and 1.63ERA and led the MLB in wins(8), ERA(1.63), and Strikeouts(122). The most impressive thing about Bieber is how he has dropped his ERA over the last couple of seasons, going from a 4.55(2018), 3.28(2019); the fact that Bieber is only in his 3rd year and only getting better is scary for opposing hitters and great for the Indians.

NL Winner Trevor Bauer, which I am very disappointed with because going deeper into the stats, Yu Darvish had the better season. Bauer led the NL in ERA with a 1.73ERA, 3rd in the MLB, with 100K; he is the first Red to win the award. Bauer had a great year, however, as his curveball was nearly unhittable. Bauer just had his price tag go up for a team that hopes to sign him in free agency. Bauer is going right into his age 30 season and his prime and looks to be cashing in at the perfect time.

These CY Young awards are the first of two pitchers who were teammates the year before, win the awards the following year.

Thank you guys for being with me today. I hope you are enjoying the blog today. Please stay tuned through the winter; we have more Around the Horn, Yearly Reviews, Ball Boy Talk, and of course, the Podcast. Don't forget to share with a friend and until next time Ball boys & girls.

Congrats to the MVP winners:

The NL MVP Freddie Freeman got a big hug from his 4yo son after he won the award. He is the first brave to win the award since 1999 when Chipper Jones won it. Freeman beat COVID early in the season to lead the Braves to the Playoffs as he slashed .341/.462/.540 with a 1.102OPS with 13HR and 53RBI. Congrats on the much overdue MVP award as he will be known now MVFree.

The AL MVP winner Jose Abreu led the young White Sox back to the playoffs this season. He hit 19HR, 60RBI, slashed .317/.376/.617 with a .987OPS and 166OPS+. There was nothing that Abreu couldn't do to opposing pitching as he becomes the first member of the White Sox since Frank Thomas won the award in 1993 and 1994. Abreu was, of course, emotional after winning the award as we saw him break into tears on TV, and that moment was special! Congrats to Pito

Non-BBWAA Award Winners:

Hank Aaron Award Winners

AL- Chicago White Sox MVP 1B Jose Abreu

NL- Atlanta Braves MVP 1B Freddie Freeman

See both player's season recap under the MVP award winners.

Edgar Martinez Outstanding DH Award

Atlanta Braves Marcell Ozuna- After slashing .362/.464/.691 with 18HR, 56RBI, and just dominating pitchers as the best DH in NL and all of baseball. Ozuna is the reason why we need the DH in the NL forever!

Comeback Player of the Year

AL- KC Royals C Salvador Perez

Salvy worked his way back as the 2nd best catcher in the MLB behind Yadi after Tommy John surgery. He came back to hit .333 with 11HR and 32RBI in 2020.

NL- Colorado Rockies SP Daniel Bard was released in 2013 and returned 4-2 with 6 saves 3.65ERA in 2020.

Rodger Clemente Award:

STL Cardinals SP